Saturday, August 31, 2013

Lok Sabha results of Rampur Parliamentary Seat

Prominent freedom fighter Abul Kalam Azad, who later became the first Education Minister of India, was elected from the Rampur parliamentary constituency in the first Lok Sabha elections in 1952. Bollywood actress Jaya Prada is the current Member of Parliament from this Lok Sabha seat in Uttar Pradesh.

S. Ahmad Mehdi who belonged to the Nawab family of Rampur, won the Rampur seat two times on Congress’ ticket. The stranglehold of the Nawab family continued here with Zulfiquar Ali Khan winning this parliamentary seat for five times. His winning streak was interrupted only in 1977 when Rajendra Kumar Sharma of Bhartiya Lok Dal wrested the seat from Congress riding on the Janata wave. Rajendra Kumar Sharma also won the seat in 1991 as a BJP candidate.

After Zulfiquar Ali Khan’s death his wife Begum Noor Bano entered electoral politics and won the Rampur Lok Sabha seat two times. Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi was elected from this parliamentary constituency in 1998, thereby becoming the first Muslim to win Lok Sabha election on BJP’s ticket. 

No comments:

Post a Comment